Monday, January 25, 2010

Piaget - Cognitive Theory

Piaget's Cognitive Theory describes four stages of development and relates them to an individuals' ability to understand and assimilate new information.

1. Sensorimotor: 0-2 years.
  • Retains images of objects
  • Develops primitive logic in manipulating objects
  • Begins intentional actions
  • Play is imaginative
  • Begins to understand signals (i.e. a babysitter's arrival signals mom's leaving)
  • In the last part of this stage, begins to understand symbols & language

2. Preoperational: 2-7 years.
  • Language development enables symbolic functioning
  • Progress from concretism to abstract thinking
  • Can comprehend past, present, future
  • Acquires words, math symbols, music symbols, and other codes
  • Magical thinking may occur
  • Thinking is not generalized and is concrete, irreversible, egocentric (unable to see another POV) & centered on one detail or event.
3. Concrete Operations: 7-11 years.
  • Beginnings of abstract thought
  • Plays games with rules
  • Cause-effect relationships are understood
  • Logical implications are understood
  • thinking is independent of experience
  • Thinking is reversible
  • Rules of logic are developed
4. Formal Operations: 11-maturity
  • Higher level of abstraction
  • Construction of ideals
  • Planning for future
  • Thinks hypothetically
  • De-centers through interactions with peers and elders
  • Assumes adult roles and responsibilities

No comments:

Post a Comment